Aside

Thesis Revival Mission – Day 1

18 Mar

#ThesisRevivalMission Day 1…. @ChynaTeresa

I’ve been all about thesis rewrite this past few days… thinking more than doing, unfortunately – but that’s all about to change! Thankfully, today after my chiro appointment, I was enlightened… the espresso and hot oatmeal breakfast probably helped!

I am so excited about the topic, the content, the experiment and everything surrounding my thesis, but I keep putting other things as higher priority… why, you ask? Well, thing is, after I finish the thesis my life becomes an adult life, which I previously thought meant I could no longer learn and would just fall into the monotony of waking up, drinking coffee, going to work, eating dinner, watching mindless TV, and passing out to wake up to the same thing tomorrow.

But then it hit me!!! I have so many great opportunities ahead of me that don’t necessarily involve such monotony! For example, Wednesday there is a career fair at my university and an ideal employer is going to be there. This business inspires me so much – I must work for them (and also, update my website, keep more active on this blog, organize my killer tangible work-related successes and present to them… by Wednesday). I won’t let this take priority over my thesis this week though, although these things will get probably just as much time, if not more today and tomorrow.

I digress. Overall, I was inspired to stop dragging my feet on thesis and to do so I’ve decided that in order to do so, I must incorporate my greatest distractions into the action plan of pure thesis-work this month and next.

How will I do this, you ask? I’m going to use social networking – Twitter specifically! Crazy? No! (Well, maybe yes, but I consider this idea to be brilliant!) What I’m going to do is utilize my main distractions (Twitter, Instagram, Reading blogs) as motivational tools by using a hash tag to mark my progress for myself, my advisor and the world! I consider it a side experiment, in which I can eventually make a student-inspiration theoretical model and sell the idea to Harvard. Maybe this is the espresso speaking. I really do think utilizing social networking as a motivation for my thesis to progress might solve the problem of wanting to get on there when I hit writers block to see what everyone else is doing.

In summation, I will use Twitter as a tool to successful tweet, read blogs, track thesis progress and do a little bit of writers block slacking from my thesis.

I welcome anyone to cheer me on… or to catch me slacking! 🙂 Promise, I won’t get mad!

 

One Response to “Thesis Revival Mission – Day 1”

  1. triblesusan@yahoo.com 18/03/2013 at 11:57 pm #

    Loved this. Nader aka madre

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Dennis Cardiff

Poems & Prose

Mass Communication Theory

Mass Communication Theory: from Theory to Practical Application

The Catholic Astronomer

Blog of the Vatican Observatory Foundation

El Punto Ciego

Futbol americano, deportes y más

The Thesis Whisperer

Just like the horse whisperer - but with more pages

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Dynasty Fantasy Football Central

Your source for all things dynasty

